Awareness of Uniqueness

{{April: Autism Awareness month}}

When difficulties arise in life we have a couple of choices in how we deal
with them. We can roll over and let it overtake us, or we can stand up and show the world what we’re made of. I am the mother of 2 boys, one being a 6 year old blonde haired and blue eyed autistic boy, I don’t have a choice but to fight for him. He doesn’t have a lot of words to always tell us what he needs or wants, sometimes it means he just screams. He needs us to be strong and he needs us to be innovative and engaging so that we can help him. This month we not only bringing awareness to Autism and it’s challenges but also it’s beauty. There is so much beauty in this child’s life.

God has created this little boy’s mind so unique. I often just look into Hezekiah’s eyes and wonder “What is going on inside that head of yours!” I seriously want to know what goes through his head so I can understand him better. His contagious smile and laugh make me so glad to be his parent. Makes all the hard moments with all my tears and frustrations worth it. I don’t hold onto expectations or dreams, having a child like this has taught me how to live in the present and not worry about the future.

We live in a world that values money, success, and outer beauty. I want my kids to value God, relationships, love, selflessness, and compassion. Knowing this makes me hold myself accountable to living these values in my day to day. I cannot teach my children these values and not live them out myself.

Being an ex-owner of a photography business allows me to pick up my camera and capture these beautiful and priceless photos of Hezekiah.

{{Kendra}}

20140401-220819.jpg

Leave a Reply

