New low


Cool song by “no name, no color” part that catches me as a youth pastor is

“I’ve been right; I’ve been left
I’ve been wrong; I’ve been left behind
I’ve been up but mostly down”

So many people are so “down” especially young people it boggles my mind how stressed, depressed etc our youth are and we can help them by just taking some time out to spend with them and being real about our faith. CHRISTianity is not about rules and regulation but about reading a play book and going with it and I have never been so excited about life and I want to pass that on.

Culturally speaking it seems to go something like “I don’t know, so I give up” and these are not just down and out’s (kids you would expect it from) but talented, gifted and wealthy young individuals that have retracted so much from society and into technology and the internet where information is fast often incorrect and incredibly emotional because it is not relational they don’t have to face the people they are talking about. You have passive aggressive’s pound out frustrations on keyboards and instigators writing wild titled articles for more page hits. Then kids land on these pages day after day and it is beginning to take its toll. People instantaneously and vehemently express their frustrations before cooling down and thinking about it and before you know it friends are picking sides and no one wins.

“Life is a labor of love and no one is working.” -quote by me

here are the complete lyrics below
Lyrics to New Low :

I have no space
No room to move around
And this box is getting smaller
I’m trying to get out

How did I get so far
From where I was
When did I decide
To lose my way
Who have I become

I’ve got a new low
All 52 cards in a row
I see now that I won’t let go
No I won’t let go

Well who am I?
A cold shoulder left to cry
You feel bow-wow so do I
Yeah so do I

I’ve been right; I’ve been left
I’ve been wrong; I’ve been left behind
I’ve been up but mostly down

I’ve been right; I’ve been left
I’ve been wrong; I’ve been left behind
I’ve been up but mostly down

I can not help feeling like
I have so much at stake
So I lock myself inside my head
And I just run in place

So many directions I don’t
Know which way to go
I’m so busy doing nothing
I got nothing to show

I’ve got a new low
All 52 cards in a row
I see now that I won’t let go
No I won’t let go

Well who am I?
A cold shoulder used to cry
You feel bow-wow so do I
Yeah so do I

I’ve been right; I’ve been left
I’ve been wrong; I’ve been left behind
I’ve been up but mostly down

I’ve been right; I’ve been left
I’ve been wrong; I’ve been left behind
I’ve been up but mostly down

I make mistakes
Just like everybody else
But instead I’m letting go of it
I can’t forgive myself

Well I did my time
In the window of this box
Like it or not
All I got now is today
Tomorrow aint here
And yesterday is gone dead on me anyway

I’ve been right; I’ve been left
I’ve been wrong; I’ve been left behind
I’ve been up but mostly down

I’ve been right; I’ve been left
I’ve been wrong; I’ve been left behind
I’ve been up but mostly down

The second part that hits me is what I bolded in the lyrics above. Many people haven’t forgiven themselves of things they have done or haven’t done.

So in this ever changing world can the Bible give us a word?
absolutely

All the stuff that happens to people in the Bible is for us to learn from and many of them go through alot more then we ever will between the calamity that Job goes through, the adventures of David and the mistakes of Peter putting his foot in his mouth.

Now these things happened to them as an example, but they were written down for our instruction, on whom the end of the ages has come. -1 Corinthians 10:11 ESV

Most of us hear the right things from church or small group Bible study we just don’t listen, let the wise hear.

The proverbs of Solomon, son of David, king of Israel: To know wisdom and instruction, to understand words of insight, to receive instruction in wise dealing, in righteousness, justice, and equity; to give prudence to the simple, knowledge and discretion to the youth— Let the wise hear and increase in learning, and the one who understands obtain guidance, … -Proverbs 1:1-33 ESV

Our faith will get us through the tough stuff in life.
For the righteous falls seven times and rises again, but the wicked stumble in times of calamity. -Proverbs 24:16 ESV

No matter what, GOD is with us
Fear not, for I am with you; be not dismayed, for I am your God; I will strengthen you, I will help you, I will uphold you with my righteous right hand. -Isaiah 41:10 ESV

If you are experiencing a new low or know someone who is remember GOD has put people in your life as spiritual guides use them.

Leave a Reply

