The Road Less Traveled

Read Robert frost poem

1. The Road Not Taken

TWO roads diverged in a yellow wood,
And sorry I could not travel both
And be one traveler, long I stood
And looked down one as far as I could
To where it bent in the undergrowth; 5
Then took the other, as just as fair,
And having perhaps the better claim,
Because it was grassy and wanted wear;
Though as for that the passing there
Had worn them really about the same, 10
And both that morning equally lay
In leaves no step had trodden black.
Oh, I kept the first for another day!
Yet knowing how way leads on to way,
I doubted if I should ever come back. 15
I shall be telling this with a sigh
Somewhere ages and ages hence:
Two roads diverged in a wood, and I—
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference. 20

No one wants to be the same everyone wants to be special not full special but cool. Which is why this poem has struck such a cord with people of all ages. Through high-school you will hear a lot of speech’s Saying things like the world is your oyster and you control your destiny like a never ending miss america pageant.

Many of you are at a cross roads in your life as you sit in your chair today. Quiet peaceful seems to be nothing wrong but there is a great urgency in your decisions today because they shape who you will be tomorrow. As teachers, parents and pastor’s our job is to get your attention while we can and try and point you in the right direction. We have a very short window to do this and many of you won’t want to hear us when you most need too. I am begging you to at least pause and hear us out. Life is alot less about finding your way then it is about finding the right way.

Matthew 7:13-14
The Narrow and Wide Gates
13 “Enter through the narrow gate. For wide is the gate and broad is the road that leads to destruction, and many enter through it. 14 But small is the gate and narrow the road that leads to life, and only a few find it.

We know there has to be something more in this life so why don’t we make this more of a priority. Whether you say you are a CHRISTian or still trying to figure things out there odds are you spend very little time thinking of things spiritual.

One of my favorite hobbies is hiking and it has taught me something this poem fails to mention. Some times the road less traveled simply means u are going the wrong way.

Life has a funny way of sneaking up on you. It was on one of those random days that me and my buddies found a wrong road. We weren’t doing anything wrong even. Just skating when one of my friends said hey lets try this other road. I very vividly remember looking at my wife who was my girlfriend at the time. She said I have a bad feeling about this. I said I do too but they are gonna go with or without me. As we are skating down my friends fall in the water. I turn around to see one of my friends in a pool of blood. We run over to him and he stops breathing. We do CPR, the ambulance picks him up and 3 days later he is gone at only 21 yrs old. That has forever changed me and strengthened my faith. Teachers and parents had built me up enough to handle it and I turned to GOD instead of turning away.

Ecclesiastes 7:5
5 It is better to heed a wise man’s rebuke
than to listen to the song of fools.

We all have that guy that when we say should I do this and they say yeah yeah do it when we know we shouldn’t.

As you walk these halls I pray when your time comes to make a life changing decision that you heed the advice of the people GOD has put in your life they are there for a reason.
– Posted using BlogPress from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

