Calling a spade a spade

I am all for being honest and calling things as I see them but a thought occurred to me late one afternoon when I was gardening and broke this spade. I had heard people say “call a spade a spade” lately, a term that was first introduced to English in 1542 (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/To_call_a_spade_a_spade). It simply means To “be outspoken, blunt, even to the point of rudeness; to call things by their proper names without any “beating about the bush”.
Where do we draw the line between making someone aware of what they are doing and convincing them it is a part of who they are? Forever binding a person to the chains that hold us down instead of lifting their eyes up because the more we focus on the temporary the harder it is to focus on the eternal whether in word or in deed. Are we more a part of the problem then the solution as I held that broken spade and tried to use it I realized it simply would never the same. Everyone has their breaking point, unlike the spade they have a choice to change but sadly many will not. It is our job to thrust greatness upon them and get back to the garden put your gloves on it’s a dirty job but someone has to do it, let’s do it together.

“Be not afraid of greatness; some are born great, some achieve greatness, and others have greatness thrust upon them.” William Shakespeare

6 thoughts on “Calling a spade a spade

  1. Really, you’re going to quote Wikipedia as a reliable source? lol

    No, but really, one of my friends and I were just talking about friends who ask fro accountability then turn around and do whatever they want and get mad at you when you confront them about it. It doesn’t make any sense. I know that you have gone through this a lot, because we’ve talked about it a few times.

    I told her it was frustrating because: ” they feel as if they’re only hurting themselves; but really, they are stressing you out since they have asked you to carry their burden with them and they just keep heaping more of it on top of both of you.”

    Then our director pointed something else out: she said, “I can’t move people along any faster than they are going to go. The Holy Spirit is the change agent. It is good to speak truth into their lives, as that will eventually come to have meaning, but they will not accept it from me. They will only accept it when the Holy Spirit shows reveals the truth to them. And they have to want that first. In the meantime, they may actually be angry with me for speaking the truth. Part of the burden of leadership. But prayer for them that Holy Spirit will reveal the truth is the most important thing you can do.”

    Sometimes, people just want to go on working with their broken spade, even when there is someone there to offer them a brand new one.

    “Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.”
    -Matthew 11:28-30

    1. Great advice we have to settle somewhere in between where most people go I don’t care or care too much. For me I know like your teacher that I need to see the best in people pray for them and know that it won’t be at my speed but theirs and that is between them and God not me and them :).

      1. Amen, brother. This is where I can reference back to a video you posted, Irresistible Impact… Look I even remembered the name 🙂

        “Give me Your eyes for just one second.”

Leave a Reply

